CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 08-16-2007, 01:51 PM   #1
Daniel Freedman

Profile:
First, the background. I'm a newbie who has just completed 5 personal training sessions and a 4 week daily boot camp. Results are spectacular:
* 38% improvement in a benchmark workout three weeks apart
* 33% improvement on a scaled version of "Fight Gone Bad" two weeks apart
* weight, lean body weight and body fat all down

Now, the question. I'm a 49-year-old distance runner wondering how to integrate running and CF. My run times have also improved dramatically, despite running many fewer miles. (I'd fallen into the trap of too many long and slow "junk miles".)

A 41-year-old distance runner who has been doing CF
for 10 months offered me his schedule. He notes this is for a base building period and it would look different in a marathon training phase.

* SUNDAY: long run of one to two hours, no Crossfit
* MONDAY: no run, Crossfit (works out kinks from long run)
* TUESDAY: run 30-40 min, no Crossfit
* WEDNESDAY: run hard 30-40 min {hills or intervals}, Crossfit
* THURSDAY: run 30-40 min., Crossfit
* FRIDAY: {rest}
* SATURDAY: RUN 30-60 MIN., Crossfit

Thoughts? Comments? Suggestions?

(Please don't say "dump the running" as I'm not interested in re-hashing the tired "runners v. lifters" debate here.)

What I'm looking for is input from other Crossfit runners. My goals are a marathon next Spring, lots of trail races next summer, and perhaps getting back into ultras and adventure races beyond that. So, what kind of schedule would you suggest for now? Something like the above? What modifications would you plan, say, 12 weeks out from the marathon?

(Message edited by Danfreedmn on August 16, 2007)
Old 08-16-2007, 03:14 PM   #2
Nick Cummings