CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Digital Coaching
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Digital Coaching Post pictures or movies for critique and coaching

Old 10-17-2011, 02:04 PM   #1
Jonathan Polakowski

Profile:
Squat Form Check

Posting for the first time in digital coaching. This is really light for me but I just want to get an idea of how I look as I am self taught and am doing SS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aziy5...e_gdata_player
Old 10-17-2011, 02:24 PM   #2
Dwayne Lawrence

Profile:
Re: Squat Form Check

You are reaching a good depth but there are some things that I notice.

Try sitting back rather than sitting down. A good cue to think of would be closing the fridge door with your butt. Your second problem, knees coming too far forward, should be corrected when you sit back properly.

Not too bad though, should be an easy fix.

Good Luck!
Old 10-17-2011, 04:23 PM   #3
Katherine Derbyshire

Profile:

What Dwayne said. Your knees are coming too far forward, and it looks like your heels come up on a few of those reps. As the weight gets heavier, you won't be able to get away with that.

Katherine
Old 10-17-2011, 06:46 PM   #4
Robert Fabsik

Profile:

I agree with all that's been said.

To also help with the knees going forward, make sure you start the squat by bending your hip first, not your knees. Really push your butt back and then after the hip begins to bend you can let the knees bend. But once they start bending make sure you push them out to let your pelvis/hips clear your legs. Try to keep your weight either midfoot or on your heels.

Your low back rounds a little at the bottom. Focus on that arch. Depending on your goals, your depth rocks. I wonder if you came up and inch or two, you wouldn't have any rounding issues and would still break parallel.