CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 05-12-2007, 09:06 PM   #1
Lucas Salvatore

Profile:
Hello,

I'm new to CF and I came across this forum while searching for some solutions or the cause of sore joints and wrists after hitting a heavy bag. I saw a post and was reading replies and everyone was very helpful and courteous to the poster. That being said, I still have a problem of my own :-)

I'm Male, 17 and I am around 5'10" or 5'11". I weigh about 225lbs. I usually can't stick to diets too well and I thought of just working out regularily. (I read somewhere that most teens can keep a respectable weight off of excercising alone and not necessarily having a diet (for weight loss))

Anyways, So I bought myself a 70LB heavy bag and I had a 25LB double end bag from before. I bought some heavy bag gloves and gelwrap gloves from everlast and started hitting the bag and exercising with that, lifting some weights, skipping rope and squats.

My problem is that always after 10 minutes or so of hitting the bag, I get pains in the palms of my hands and my wrists hurt. There is considerable pain if I were to move my hand in a 'waving' motion as if waving hello quickly. I'm assuming it's from hitting the bag awkwardly and not having proper technique. Is there any tips you could give a guy like me to avoid these injuries?

And more importantly, do i really need to try to 'kill' the bag? or can I can just moderately hit it and move around? (keep in mind this is for cardio and weight loss)

Any information you can give me is appreciated,

Cheers, Lucas
Old 05-13-2007, 06:59 AM   #2
Elliot Royce

Profile: