CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 09-05-2005, 11:19 AM   #1
Joe Miller

Profile:
I know this is another question that has been asked on a million threads, but again I couldn't really find an answer to my exact issue.

I'm new to squatting. [:blush:I know, I know... I was always told it would ruin my knees!:blush:] I've got several problems with form that I can't seem to figure out. I've read everything I know (including the excellent "Squat Clinic" crossfit journal, and Dan John's Sqatting Powerpoint slides), so I thought I'd just go ahead and ask for advice.

First, I feel like my squats are about 90% quads, with minimal glut and ham involvement. I know this is very wrong, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong to create this problem. I'm definitely "sitting" between my legs, with minimal or no shin movement, and I'm keeping my weight on my heels throughout the movement (in fact I think I focus too much on this as I have a tendancy to lose my balance and almost fall backwards). Any ideas?

The second issue I fear is flexibility but I wonder if it could be related. That is the fact that I find it impossible to maintain an arch in my back as I drop my thighs below parallel. I can maintain an arch down to about parallel, but no matter how strictly I focus on form my back begins to round at this point and becomes very round as I drop "ass to grass." The only way for me to maintain an arch in my back as I drop to the floor is to raise up onto my toes.

I realize this is wrong, the question is what should I do to fix it? I have been trying to do a lot of work on pike stretches and the like to limber up my hams, but I'm not even 100% sure that's the problem, and I don't really feel like this has been generating a lot of progress.