CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 09-16-2008, 05:56 AM   #1
Michael Hurwitz

Profile:
How often to work out with CrossFit

Ok, I am just getting into CrossFit and have a question re. how often to do CrossFit per week. I have seen a few articles that say you should do it 3 on/1 off, or should you work out everyother day. Does anyone work out with weights on the off days or do you really need to? Any suggestions or comments.

Thanks
Old 09-16-2008, 06:11 AM   #2
David Sumner

Profile:
Re: How often to work out with CrossFit

3 on 1 off is the official workout prescription for Crossfit. Todd explained the reason for this at a Level 1 Certification lecture. Day 1, you feel great and can go 100%. Day 2, you are not yet that sore from Day 1 workout so you can go 100%. Day 3, you may be sore as hell but you know tomorrow is a rest day so you push yourself anyways.

But, the 3 on 1 off routine is hard for some to follow because it changes your workout days and rest days each week. I like to do 3 on (Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday), 1 off (Thursday), 2 on (Friday, Saturday), 1 off (Sunday). I will vary my workouts between morning and evenings at random. Well, I say random, but it usually depends on whether I feel like waking up at 4:15 AM or not

Five or six days a week of working out won't leave much in the recovery tank for extra weightlifting or intense workouts. Do too much and you will begin to break yourself down spiritually, mentally, and physically. Want to see a grown man cry? Have him do high intensity two a day WODs for a few weeks, usually not a pretty outcome.

Last edited by David Sumner : 09-16-2008 at 06:16 AM.
Old 09-16-2008, 06:13 AM   #3
Frederik Beck

Profile: