CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-16-2008, 10:07 AM   #1
Ted Apollo

Profile:
first 5k. any advice?

m/34/6'/277

i just signed up for my first 5k and it is 30 days away.

i have been doing xfit for 2 months now and it has really improved my weakness which is respitory conditioning. I am still taking it easy on the running since i am so big and it is hard on the legs. i want to avoid overuse injuries. so i mix in some swimming for extra work. i am also aware of the crossfit endurance website and plan to incorperate that also.

i was just wondering if there were any individuals out there that have experience running these races and would like to share their experience & advice. Like how much should I eat before? when? what? how much fluid before the race? or anything else i am sure i overlooked?
Old 07-16-2008, 11:13 AM   #2
Clay Warford

Profile:
Re: first 5k. any advice?

im NOT a runner. before my 1st 5k the farthest i ran at 1 time was about 1.5 miles. i hate running...however, after excelling in CF, i did my 1st 5k without stopping in 27 min...my goal was to complete it without stopping...its not bad as long as u have music playing.
Old 07-16-2008, 11:28 AM   #3
James Besenyei

Profile:

I've only done 3 5k's, I'm no runner that's for sure. Have fun with it. Don't take it too seriously unless you are really going to start rocking the local racing circuit. If you're doing it for fun then have fun! Take your ipod or talk with others around you. Take advantage of the water stations, don't be afraid to walk if you have to, and enjoy the day.