CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 10-08-2006, 03:20 PM   #1
Josh Brehm

Profile:
I've done a search online and on here, and I haven't really had too much luck trying to find the type of routine and/or the philosophy behind developing a routine for weightlifting. I'd like to see how the professionals train, and learn how to develop a routine for weightlifting. I'd prefer to find some sites to learn from as opposed to books due to I'm a college student without a job, and I can't even afford car insurance.
Old 10-08-2006, 03:58 PM   #2
William Winger

Profile:
Unfortunately I haven't bookmarked all the websites I've visited to learn about oly lifting, but in my head it has all boiled down to a short list of key points:

- The oly lifts tax the central nervous system more than they do the actual muscles of the body. At first you won't be able to train often because your CNS will be fried, but eventually you'll be able to train twice a day six days a week (by 'eventually' I mean: if you go back in time and start training at age 6, preferably in Bulgaria).
-In addition to the CaJ and the snatch, and direct variations (like squat-cleans), you should practice other variations, with a focus on: front squat, squat, overhead squat, deadlift and military press.
-Tacking on to the second point, train your slow lifts first, in the morning, then do a full workout of either snatches or CaJs, eventually, do an afternoon workout of the other fast lift.
-When your form is perfect, try more weight.
-Alternate between days of high reps, and high loads (as with most weightlifting in general).