CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 07-11-2010, 11:48 AM   #1
James Mazurek

Profile:
Extreme Pain Pressing and Lowering from Overhead

I've been doing CrossFit for about 5 months and I've made some great gains. However recently my right shoulder has been a major limiting factor in WODs. No real problems with pullups, rowing and even pushups (although a little sore), but the pain has been excrutiating when doing anything with an overhead press. The pain is in the front portion of the joint capsule and it hurts both extending the arms and even worse when lowering the weight. I've also realized that I'm pretty much unable to throw anything without the pain being extreme so playing many sports is pretty much ruled out too.

I don't want to have to take an extended break from working out if it's possible to improve this with stretching, etc. Anyone have any ideas on what causes this and if I have any options besides seeing a doctor? Is this tendonitus? Or a potential serious injury?

Any advice is much appreciated!

Jim
Old 07-11-2010, 04:39 PM   #2
Rob St. Croix

Profile:
Re: Extreme Pain Pressing and Lowering from Overhead

That describes exactly the symptoms I had. It was originally misdiagnosed as tendinitis in the shoulder, but later turned out to be a SLAP tear. I would seek the consultation of a Medical Professional because if it is a SLAP tear, the more you use it, the worse it will get and the harder it will be to fix, and more painful and longer the recovery.