CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 06-07-2010, 07:40 AM   #1
Mike Watson

Profile:
How did you learn to

Clean, jerk and snatch? My friend who I started lifting with last year before I got hurt showed me. Now he's deployed and I'm relying on youtube videos to see the form. Do you think spending some time on form with just the bar would work? Muscle memory and all, or do you would my form likely go to crap when adding weight?
Old 06-07-2010, 07:46 AM   #2
Casey Raiford

Profile:
Re: How did you learn to

First off let me say that my oly lifts still need work. That being said, I watched all of the vidoes on the main site. Then I scoured youtube. Then I bought Olympic Weightlifting by greg Everret. Then I got some coaching here and there. Next weekend I'm going to the oly lifting cert. Later this year or next I want to go to the USAW club coach cert. I'm finding it's a process, rather than an act.
Old 06-07-2010, 08:03 AM   #3
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:

Bill starr learned on his own, so did alot of the older guys. Greg Everrets book is invaluable for this.
Old 06-07-2010, 08:36 AM   #4
Todd Rehm

Profile:

I also find videotaping myself invaluable. I can watch it myself and post it to the digital coaching forum here, at Everett's site or other places and have folks give feedback/advice.

Doesn't need to be anything fancy. My "push here, dummy" digital camera takes decent video and allows me to upload to youtube, vimeo, etc.

If you have access to a fancy digital camera that allows you to shoot at 240 frames/second or faster, that would be awesome. Justin Lascek in Wichita Falls (70sbig.com - has some swearing, don't recommend for work or with children present) has posted some videos of lifts filmed at a high frame rate and the ability to watch playback in slow-motion.