CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 02-10-2007, 08:09 PM   #1
David Aguasca

Profile:
I've looked around on this board, and i've come to the conclusion that to gain weight, i have to add fat to my diet in the way of nuts, seeds, oils, and (possibly) milk. i just recently started to eat nuts and seeds as snacks, and add olive oil to whatever dish can absorb it.

i eat mostly paleo with occasional legumes (and chocolate, i have to admit). i never checked out how many calories i used to eat before i added the nuts and oil, but now i'm eating about 3,000 a day.

this is where it gets tricky: i'm very thin, with low %BF (never tested it...but i have pretty good muscle definition). i work as a stage carpenter in an unheated shop. work days are between 6-8 hours, pretty physical, lifting and such. the temperature in the room i work varies between 25-35 F. i dress warmly but my feet and hands are usually pretty cold. i figure i'm probably burning a lot more calories, due to the physicality of the job, and the cold temperature.

i recently started a strength program (haven't done a metcon workout in almost 2 months now) which is 3 days a week. i squat every workout and then do gymnastics training. with my job, it's about all i can do without overtraining.

all in all, does 3,000 calories sound like enough? i'm going to continue with that, and see what happens, but i'd also like to you input from all y'all.
Old 02-10-2007, 10:53 PM   #2
Chris Forbis

Profile:
I would say 3000 is a good starting point. If you don't gain any after 2 weeks, bump it up to 3500. Repeat this process if no progress is made.

Be sure protein intake is fairly high, I'd start at 1 g/lb/day and adjust upwards as needed.

Be sure you get enough sleep.
Old 02-11-2007, 05:04 AM   #3
Paul Symes

Profile: