CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Injuries
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Injuries Chronic & Acute

Old 04-04-2006, 11:03 AM   #1
Josh Goldsmith

Profile:
I recently started playing soccer again (about 6months ago) and after every game i get really bad pains on the inside of my shins and ankles. The pain usually come about 1-2 days later after i play. Does this sound like shin splints? What can i do to make this pain go away besides rest. I only play on sundays. Could my shoes be the problem? What about the way i run? Any quick fixes? Thanks Josh
Old 04-04-2006, 11:17 AM   #2
Sean Manseau

Profile:
not a medical doctor or anything, but i've had plenty of problems with shinsplints, and it sounds like that's what you're dealing with. dunno about quickfixes, but here are a couple things you can do: take some ibuprofen before you exercise, and stretch out our calves and ankles both before (but very lightly and carefully) and after (more vigorously) your workouts. some people recommend resistance band exercises, or doing things like writing the alphabet in the air with your pointed toe, the idea being these will strengthen the muscles at the front of the leg. never did too much for me, though. shinsplints are a drag but they'll pass in time. good luck!
Old 04-04-2006, 01:07 PM   #3
Roger Harrell

Profile:
Shoes and running technique can certainly have a large impact on shin splints.

As far as care/prevention.
1st. If shin splints are bad you need to get off them. They are not an injury you can work through. Don't do anything that aggrevates them.

Do duck walks (walk on your heels with the balls of your feet off the floor. Squeeze your quads and anterior tibialis (muscle running up the outer front edge of your tibia). Do this regularly.

Stand with your on the edge of a curb, or step facing out and do reverse toe raisers.