CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 03-30-2010, 09:13 PM   #1
Niall Somerville

Profile:
Constantly being put down because i'm thin...

I just want to vent so here we go.

I recently started a new job. I'm a personal trainer and used to work at a globo gym where most of the trainers did Crossfit. This is how I was introduced to it. However, I wasn't making much money in that job and recently started a new one at a personal training studio. All we do is personal training and group fitness classes so it's a good environment with good clients. All the trainers there come from a bodybuilding background and most don't even know what Crossfit is. All the guys are fairly large and do bicep curls on a regular basis I'm a very thin guy. I have gained significant amounts of weight before (I was unemployed and basically just ate all day and did an hour of weights 3 times per week) but now i'm back down to my natural weight due to my extremely busy schedule (don't have time to eat regularly) and Crossfit training. All the trainers see me and tell me i'm a skinny dweeb and that Crossfit sucks because you can't gain mass on it. I try to tell them otherwise but obviously because i'm skinny I can't prove it to them. All the trainers train together 3 times a week after we close and I usually go to my local box and do the WOD. They are always telling me I need to stay and train with them so they can show me how it's done etc. I just laugh and say "yeah, one day". At first I was just like "whatever" but lately it's been getting worse. I'm being called names on a regualr basis and when I struggle to lift up large pieces of equipment (we rearrange the gym quite a bit) i'm teased and told that Crossfit is the reason i'm weak.