CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 01-06-2010, 07:26 AM   #1
Bobby Smith

Profile:
Half Marathon?

Happy New Year fellow X-fitters!

I have gotten great advice from you guys before and was lookin' for some more.
I have been CFing for 5 months with awesome progress and my current routine looks likeDay 1 CF/ Judo
Day 2 CF
Day 3 off
Day 4 CF/ Judo
Day 5 CF (usually an ME day)
Day 6 off
I have been "peer pressured" into agreeing to run a half marathon in April, I have done 2 before, mind you I just want to plod through this half but I will need to train for it. Can you all help me to tweak my schedule alittle so I can get 2-3 days of running in I can't imagine giving up CF for 3 months so if something has to give I won't do the half.
Thanks for any help!
Old 01-06-2010, 07:37 AM   #2
Sean Dunston

Profile:
Re: Half Marathon?

Have you checked out the CrossFit Endurance site yet?

wfs

http://www.anaerobicendurance.com/
Old 01-06-2010, 08:06 AM   #3
Nathan Kulas

Profile:

+1 to CFE

Tabata treadmill run = 4 minutes.
Rest = 10 minutes (no joke! - use this time to stretch and keep warm)
Follow that by some basic strength work - nothing too heavy, as you've already done a metcon - 1-3 different lifts.

This will give you a run day, but simultaneously hit metcon and strength.

Otherwise, on those days when you only have CF - if you have the time available, do the CF in the AM and then do the CFE endurance workout 3+ hours later.