CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Workout of the Day
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Workout of the Day Questions & performance regarding CrossFit's WOD

Old 07-10-2003, 06:10 AM   #1
tom hunter

Profile:  
I'm new to the whole crossfit style of exercising. I started with the WOD for 7/8/03 (squats followed by 800m runs). My questions are; When a weight isn't posted, what quideline should be used to determine the weight to use? For instance 50-60% max.
Also what tempo should be used on lifts such as squats, deads, dips, pullups, bench press.
Old 07-10-2003, 12:35 PM   #2
Robert Wolf

Profile:
Tom-

Initially just use a weight which you can finish the WOD. Start light! There will likely be some exercises wich are new and will require some form work. Once the form is near perfect then start adding weight and intensity. Read ALL of Coach's posts. many will discuss the topic of work rest management. This adresses ideeas like tempo and loading as well and is far more art than science and is where your personal expereince comes in. Find postings of folks who are in your age/weight cohort and use these as guidelines.

Keep the questions comming.
Robb
Old 07-10-2003, 07:10 PM   #3
David Wood

Profile:

Tom:

A brief follow-up to what Robb said: when he said start light, he REALLY meant it . . . particularly if you've been doing "weight training" in the past.

My apologies in advance if what I'm about to say doesn't apply to you, but here goes . . .

If you've lifted weights before, you may be fairly strong within the traditional bodybuilding recommendation of "3 sets of 8-10 reps". Most people who do this kind of training take pretty much all the rest they want between those 3 sets . . . five minutes or more / set is not uncommon.