CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 03-22-2007, 12:18 PM   #1
Max Rosenthal

Profile:
So I'm on day three of paleo diet, but my major issue is that I'm living in a barracks, so I have no options to cook on my own and chow hall food seems pretty awful for this kind of stuff. My daily routine is starting to look like this:

Breakfast (rarely eat it): scrambled eggs with mushroom, tomato, and onion; maybe bacon or sausage; lots of fruit

Lunch and Dinner: some meat (sometimes comes down to a burger off the bun with the available options); bowl of salad; orange or apple

Also snacking on almonds and some fruit

I started this off of the simplefit website, so I've generally been trying to eat small meals and stop eating around 6-7 pm. So far, though, been prone to lots of bad headaches and hunger and I'm starting to feel myself go south on this kind of nutrition already. So I'm wondering the following:
1) What kinds of paleo snacks/foods are good to keep around if all you have is a fridge and a microwave? (keeping in mind price as well...as much as I would like to buy out the local Whole Foods, I can't)
2) Should I be more lax on portion control and eating at night, and how much if so? ie am I screwing myself with eating small and trying to do IF.

I'm totally new to this, so any advice is greatly appreciated, especially from other military people who may have had to deal with the DFAC's stranglehold on your eating habits.
Old 03-22-2007, 03:07 PM   #2
George Mounce

Profile:
These symptoms I've gone through before, and it will get better!

First of all make sure you are drinking plenty of water. You can never get enough, and if you are going to the bathroom regularly thats a good thing, its your body cleansing out the stuff thats been sitting in there for a long time.