CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-21-2008, 08:00 AM   #1
Edwin Howe

Profile:
Starting Stength 5RM %

I just got Starting Strength 2nd edition, and am unsure of with what percentage of my 5RM I should begin the program? 70%? Iím not an absolute beginner, except with the clean, which I only do to get the bar to my shoulders for the press and front squats, since I have no squat stands. So if I start with 90%, I think I would hit a sticking point within a few workouts. Or am I underestimating the strength gains that this type of workout produces?

Anyway, I purchased the book for the instruction on the deadlift, overhead press and clean, and find it invaluable in that regard. Although I did find the active shoulder thing in the press confusing until I saw this post:

http://www.board.crossfit.com/showth...ctive+shoulder

I had been keeping my shoulders in the same position as for pull ups, which is the exact opposite of what I should have been doing. Canít wait to try it today correctly and see if it feels any easier or leads to less shoulder popping and cracking.
Old 03-21-2008, 08:51 AM   #2
Steven Quadros

Profile:
Re: Starting Stength 5RM %

Err on the low side; it's better to have some time to build up to above your old max while working on your form, something, having just purchased the book, you'll definitely have to do. I started low and really drilled form, expected to stall pretty low (I started at 95 lbs and expected to stall before 135lbs.) I actually ended up, due to the corrections on my form, getting all the way up to 175, where I am today.