CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 09-13-2010, 12:09 PM   #1
Shane Skowron

Profile:
Cutting for meet

Anyone have any good resources or tips for cutting in a 24 hour period?

I found this method - does it sound like a good idea?
http://www.elitefts.com/documents/cu...t_for_comp.htm (wfs)

I'm trying to get down to 152.1 lb. A couple days ago I got down to 153.8 lb after reducing my calorie intake a bit for 2 days. Fully hydrated and fully stuffed I'm about 157 lb.

I need to cut by September 25. Everyone tells me I can do it the night before just by not drinking liquids, but I have no experience with this and I'm not totally confident it'll be that easy. Should I try to cut next Saturday morning to simulate the weigh-in?
Old 09-13-2010, 12:22 PM   #2
Sean Dunston

Profile:
Re: Cutting for meet

Shane-
The no liquids thing will work for up to 2# -- USUALLY. But be sure to replenish ASAP after the weigh in.

I cut 13# slowly for my USAPL event last Saturday (check my blog), but the last 5# were really difficult for me. I am a pretty strict Zone guy, and my normal diet is 16 blocks. I cut down to 14 two weeks before the meet and 12 for the last 5 days before the meet.

If you check my blog, you'll see that I was 166.7 the night before the meet, and made weight at 164.5 the next morning -- no liquids after 7:00 p.m., and a few trips to the bathroom made the difference.

PS: this type of cutting only works when you have an "early" weigh-in period - which most competitions DO NOT have anymore.

Last edited by Sean Dunston : 09-13-2010 at 12:26 PM.
Old 09-13-2010, 12:26 PM   #3
Shane Skowron

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Dunston View Post
Shane-
The no liquids thing will work for up to 2# -- USUALLY. But be sure to replenish ASAP after the weigh in.