CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 11-18-2009, 08:58 PM   #1
Thatcher R. Cardon

Profile:
"Fran Lung" a subset of Exercise Induced Asthma

I am an avid home-gym crossfitter since July of 2008. While I have never been as fit as I am now, I have been interested in fitness my whole life and have done a lot of different things, adventure racing, Jiu-jitsu, mountain bike racing, mountain climbing, football, wrestling, jogging. I am a healthy non-smoker. I have never had asthma or any lung reaction to heavy exercise; however, every time I do Fran (and no other WOD) I get a two-day cough productive of opaque greenish thick mucus in casts the shape of my bronchioles, some audible wheezing but no real bronchospasm or shortness of breath.

I am also a Family Physician so I decided to try and figure it out. I won't say that I put the work required for publication into the effort; however, it is possible that this question has not been well addressed in the literature. Most of the stuff you see on line doesn't make sense or is not applicable to you or me e.g. pulmonary edema, infections. (In the end you really need to work with your personal physician to rule out important problems. I cannot be responsible for giving anyone direct medical advice in such limited forum.)