CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 09-19-2007, 04:50 AM   #1
Jonathan Thomas Powers

Profile:
Another Crossfit is too dangerous article

I think this article is misinformed Clearly. However, I think it highlights the need for people to work with a Trainer when begining Crossfit and that the WOD is NOT the only component to training. Warm Up, Corrective/Rehab Excercise, Stretching are all very important and not included in the WOD. A total NEWB with no knowledge following the weights etc in the WOD would be asking for it.

Moderators Notes:

Article removed, replaced with link (thanks, George!)

http://www.ptonthenet.com/displayart...ArticleID=2931

Link requires membership, unfortunately . . . but that's good, since it means their ignorance and laziness won't be on display for the whole world, and that Personal Trainers using PT on the Net as their source of info will remain ignorant.

Last edited by David Wood : 09-19-2007 at 12:00 PM. Reason: deleted copyright violation.
Old 09-19-2007, 04:52 AM   #2
Jonathan Thomas Powers

Profile:
Re: Another Crossfit is too dangerous article

Incase you want to send the author an email

Jeff Thaxton is a Certified Personal Trainer by the American Council on Exercise. He earned a BS degree in Exercise Science at Eastern Washington University in 2001 and has continuing education certifications in human movement, advanced program design, nutrition for special populations, counselling for health and fitness professionals, overcoming fitness plateaus and others. He is the owner of an in home personal training business called Fit for Life, and he has volunteer experience in physical therapy clinics and cardiopulmonary units.