CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 05-07-2007, 01:28 PM   #1
Jaime Delgado

Profile:
IM GETTING READY FOR THE FIRE ACADEMY, CROSSFIT HAS BEEN AWESOME FOR ME i HAVE BEEN DOING IT FOR 9 MONTHS WITH INCREDIBLE RESULTS... BUT MY RUNS HAVE SUFFERED GREATLY, I DONT RUN AS FAST (MORE MUSCLE) BUT STILL HAVE GAS IN THE TANK LEFT. MY AGILITY SCORES ARE GREAT BUT i DONT THINK IM READY FOR THE 5+ MILE RUNS IN THE (LAFD) ACADEMY... AND iM FINALLY SUPPLEMENTING LONG RUNS + INERTVALS AS A RESULT iM GETTING CLOSER TO MY START DATE GUESS IT WAS MY MISTAKE.. I WAS ONLY DOING CROSSFIT TO PREPARE. ANY FIREMAN HAVE SOME ADVISE????
Old 05-07-2007, 01:50 PM   #2
Chris Mayo

Profile:
Not a fireman here, but military. I've found the strength gains more important in my job because in most things you're rarely going to run in shorts and tennis shoes in your job. My speed in sprints and my ability to run with a load or in boots and uniform has greatly increased thanks to CF, as well as my ability to carry/push stuff. Although like you I still have to be able to run for a pt test or try some light triathlons or obstacle course competitions every now and then, and I found making up my own crossfit schedule works the best. I still hit the cf workouts (especially the ones that have any kind of running in them) 3 or 4 days a week, but also include one or two days of just running or swimming, and still have about 2 days off a week (usually the weekend). How long are you needing to run? I think everybody on here tailors it for themselves and their goals. There is a post in the "Starting" section titled "A Good Balance". Read it and see if it helps you at all.
Old 05-07-2007, 06:34 PM   #3
Barney Ring

Profile: