CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 02-05-2013, 10:32 PM   #1
Brian Kegel

Profile:
Winning the warm up

So I've been doing Crossfit for a few months and I just need some clarification. Is the warm up a warm up? You often see it said (even T-shirts) "our warm up is harder than your workout" and I have to say that often I am gassed or partially gassed by the time the warm up is over. When I was running track a warm up was a warm up and used to get loose and prep for the up coming work out. There was no glory in busting out a killer warm up, the joke being you win the warm up because you won't win anything else. So, back to Crossfit, what is the deal with the warm up, is it to warm up for the WOD or is it part of the workout that needs to be attacked just like the WOD?

The reason I bring this up is I was never much of a warm up person, when I was younger I needed very little warm up to compete and the longer I warmed up the poorer I'd perform (I liked being a little tight). Now that I'm older, I do need a longer warm up, but again not too long. I have found that if I do what I need for the warm up and not really put lots of effort into it I do much better in the WOD. I guess the question is is the WOD the end all be all focus of the workout and everything else is to support getting ready for the WOD or is the WOD just a part of the workout?
Old 02-06-2013, 12:14 AM   #2
Mike McDaniel

Profile:
Re: Winning the warm up

I'm not a coach or anything, but I think you're over thinking it... When I'm working out, I use the warm up as a way to warm up. Nothing more, nothing less.
I usually get a little winded or have a light sweat going... Enough so you're ready for the WOD.