CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 03-22-2007, 09:48 AM   #1
Jason Kassab

Profile:
I apologize in advance, I am new to these execises, and need clarification on the Hang Power Clean.

I wantched the demo videos here:
http://www.crossfit.com/cf-info/excercise.html

Todays workout (doing them a day behind) includes the Hang Power Clean. In the video the young lady jumps during the movement. I do not have sound on my pc and maybe this was covered in the audio. If it was I apologize.

My question is this: Within my own ability, do I attempt the jump, or is that just a result of her momentum (sp?)? Is the jump proper form?

Thank you in advance!

Jason
Old 03-22-2007, 02:08 PM   #2
John Seiler

Profile:
Sage (the young lady in the video) is doing a "donkey kick". Some Oly coaches teach the donkey kick as a way of getting their lifters to actively "plant" their feet as they come out from the starting position. Check out this w/f safe video of a true Oly lifting freak. If your PC had sound, you'd hear his feet hitting the ground solidly. You won't see the the donkey kick. If doing the kick helps you stomp your feet, go for it. It's not however a prerequisite for doing the movement properly. BTW, as watch the video, have some tissues ready to wipe away your tears. You'll really feel inadequate. :crybaby0:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=xVB_rQFSsEg
Old 03-22-2007, 07:27 PM   #3
Don Stevenson

Profile:
John, please don't post vids like that. Pyrros makes me feel VERY inadequate.....:crybaby0:

Jason, in the hang power clean the idea is to let the bar hang to just below the knee and then explosively extend + shrug then catch the weight on the shoulders.