CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 06-30-2010, 05:49 PM   #1
Sam Brunnings

Profile:
Creatine use?

I've been doing CrossFit for 6 months now, and have been on paleo style diet for 3 months. I've seen awesome changes in trimming body fat and gaining muscle strength. I've also heard though that many many athletes and crossfitters use creatine.

Is that true? Any advice for me?

I'm thinking about starting up on creatine in the next few weeks just to see what exactly it does to my body.

Thanks for any help.
Old 06-30-2010, 05:52 PM   #2
Wayne Riddle

Profile:
Re: Creatine use?

People claim it helps with recovery. Forgot the loading stuff, just take 5 grams a day. I take it in the morning on non-lift days and after lifting on those days.

YMMV
Old 06-30-2010, 06:24 PM   #3
Josh Paschedag

Profile:

It gave me diarrhea. Watch out for that.
Old 06-30-2010, 06:31 PM   #4
Josh Paschedag

Profile:

In terms of a more useful reply (the above is certainly useful knowledge though...), I think you will only see creatine's effects if you are doing strength training or sprint similar high intensity, phosphagen pathway based training. Since it essentially is used to produce more ATP, you won't get much effect out of it if you are only doing CF WODs. Some people even dispute its effect on everything but maximal numbers.
Old 06-30-2010, 07:34 PM   #5
Nic Kirkland

Profile:

This board is just so damn handy. In case you didn't want to use the search function (conveniently located at the top of the forum), if you look below this thread there is a box that says "Similar Threads"

This horse has been beat to death many, many times on this and other forums. See those other threads for all the enlightening discussion.
Old 06-30-2010, 08:24 PM   #6
Sam Brunnings

Profile: