CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-10-2007, 07:46 AM   #1
Júlíus Magnússon

Profile:

Gaining strength, metcon and size at the same time?

I've started CrossFit very recently and one thing I've come to notice is that my metcon is about the same as a 300lbs couch potato's. Probably because I've been doing ONLY 3x5 weight lifting for several months ala Starting Strength... but that's about to change.

I've laid out detailed goals I would like to reach before June of next year. Here's where I'm at and where I want to be (bold) by June 2008:

Body Weight: 71,0kg/80,0kg

Bench Press: 80kg(x5)/100kg
Back Squat: 120kg/130kg
Deadlift: 130kg/160kg

Clean and Jerk: 60kg/75kg
Snatch: 30kg/60kg
Overhead Squat: 42,5kg(x5)/70kg

Cindy: 10 rounds/20 rounds
Fran: 14:46/10:00
Helen: 29:53/15:00
Michael: 46:40/30:00
Linda: -/01:00:00

The thing with CrossFit is that with school, work and trying to have a life I don't really have the energy for the 3 on 1 off split so I was wondering what your views on a 2 on 1 off split are?

I was thinking metcon, strength, rest, rinse repeat.

Strength days I would also use to work on skills such as handstand push-ups (still trying to get more than three of those in a row), snatching, jerking et cetera.

Am I way off here and should just follow the CrossFit split as closely as I can or does this make sense to some of you keeping my goals in mind?
Old 12-10-2007, 07:58 AM   #2
Jay Hanewinkel

Profile:
Re: Gaining strength, metcon and size at the same time?

I've built a program based around principles from Joe DeFranco's WS4SB, SS, and CF. It's still a work in progress, but I've been doing it for about a month and a half since I designed it and the results have been outstanding in all areas. PM me if you'd like to try it out.