CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 07-22-2007, 03:05 PM   #1
Christine Denahan

Profile:
I compete in Triathlons and 5K/10K races and love them because of the ranking, intensity and competitiveness of this hobby. I am new to Crossfit and like the same philosophy of intensity, performance and competition.

I have trained for these races in traditional ways - endurance runs, swims, bikes, but with the Crossfit philosophy I am trying to understand the balance of "letting go" of some endurance training in favor of the anaerobic intensity of the WODs. It seems hard to believe that without longer aerobic workouts, as Crossfit suggests, that you will have the endurance for when you need it, AND be better at it. I want to believe this. I think Crossfit is EXCITING and I'm really glad to have found it, but would like some advice on how to add in the WOD and modify the endurance correctly without screwing it up....so I can still perform (and win/place)in these races? Also, what about a half-marathon distance??

Thoughts or suggestions?
Old 07-22-2007, 03:42 PM   #2
Jay Cohen

Profile:
Try the search function, this subject has been covered in great detail.
BTW, welcome aboard.
Old 07-22-2007, 07:06 PM   #3
Mary Ann Rigney

Profile:
Christine,