CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 01-17-2008, 08:57 AM   #1
Dan Fong

Profile:
Where's the progression?

General question, I guess. I've been doing CF for about 9 months now, and absolutely love it. That being said, I don't feel like I'm getting the amazing fitness gains I see so often posted. I still can't do most workouts as RX'd and metrics like the time on my 5k are still dismal. Am I reaching a breakover point, or is there something I'm missing? Thanks!
Old 01-17-2008, 09:17 AM   #2
Darrell E. White

Profile:
Re: Where's the progression?

Ooo, Dan, we need to know way more about you to answer that one!! How old are you? How much do you weigh? %BW fat? Height? Exercise and fitness background? Interval improvement on benchmark WOD's? Tastes great or less filling?
Old 01-17-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
Tom Fetter

Profile:

Hmmm ... for me, the progress simply occurs. I know it occurs not because the workouts feel less draining ... but because my training log shows weights going up, or times coming down, or both.

I can also see that there are a group of workouts where the progress isn't happening at the same pace - for me, they're all workouts that call on shoulder strength. Thruster or HSPU centric stuff. For me, observing that's been a wake-up call to do some ME shoulder work in addition to the WODs, to bring up that weakness.

If you're not showing regular, sustained progress, I'd examine:
  • workout regularity
  • workout intensity
  • CFWU regularity
  • sleep
  • diet
  • lagging in specific exercises or bodyparts
Probably in that order.