CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > In Search of CrossFitters
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

In Search of CrossFitters For finding other CrossFitters to CrossFit with

Old 05-10-2009, 09:03 AM   #1
Ryan McDaniel

Profile:
Gyms in Austin,TX

Hello everyone, I an new to crossfit and I am also new to the Austin area. I am looking for a gym in Austin, preferably the north side, that has all the stuff I need to workout. All of the chain gyms I have looked at are terrible. No bumper plates or plyo boxes or kettlebells. I would love to join an affiliate but I can't fit into their timeframes because they are all personal training style instead of open gym, and it would be hard for me to afford it right now. If anyone know of a good hardcore place to train please let me know.

Thanks,

Ryan McDaniel
Old 05-10-2009, 11:22 AM   #2
Robbie Cooper

Profile:
Re: Gyms in Austin,TX

I don't know of any "open gym" affiliates or CrossFit gyms in Austin. I was a former member of Golds here in Austin, and can tell you that the 3-4 different ones I've used around Austin would not be conducive to getting in a CrossFit WoD.

In addition to my home garage gym, I also train at the CrossFit Central gym in central Austin, run by the total bad @ss Theil family (Jermemy, Zachary, and their sister Carey).

I think there is someone running a garage gym affiliate up in Cedar Park...don't know the name of it or if they have "open" hours or not.

Sorry, not much help answering your question, but just wanted to welcome you to Austin, which has a very large and active CrossFit community.
Old 05-11-2009, 03:01 PM   #3
Ryan McDaniel

Profile: