CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > In Sickness and In Health > Health and Medical Issues
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Health and Medical Issues For other than injuries

Old 10-16-2012, 03:40 AM   #1
Steve Boutcher

Profile:
Extreme soreness, experienced athlete

Hi guys,

I've been doing crossfit for about 4 years. I've did the WOD "Diane" on saturday. I set a new PR and felt awesome. No issues what so ever. A bit sore the day after, but nothing unusual. The very next day I had planned to do "Angie" with a buddy of mine. As mentioned I was slightly sore from Diane, but I wasn't concerned (been there 1000 times before).

I did "Angie". I felt good during the WOD and set again a new PR by about a minute and a half. Despite having done Angie 3x before this time I felt a lot more fatigued than the other times. I also performed the butterfly pull this time on almost all of the pull ups. I did not do this the other times.

I am now experiencing soreness like I have never experienced before. It's really quite extreme. My biceps/forearms are absolutely annihilated. I am a little concerned because I'm quite experienced in crossfit and have competed and push my body to the limit many times before but never, ever come close to this my pain after a WOD. It feels just like normal DOMs (muscle soreness) only 50 times more painful.

I couldn't sleep properly due to the pain and I cannot do anything useful with my arms, they are quite useless at the moment. I can obviously type, but lifting my arms, brushing my teeth, putting on a jumper are all very painful.

Just just extreme muscle soreness or perhaps mild Rhabdo???

Thanks guys.
Old 10-16-2012, 10:01 AM   #2
Mike Darlington

Profile:
Re: Extreme soreness, experienced athlete