CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 12-04-2009, 04:51 PM   #1
Johnathan Benjamin-Nichols

Profile:
Transitions in Life

Hey fellow crossfitters!!

My name is Johnathan, and I just finished my first week at CrossfitDaytona. I must say I was a little intimidated at first but man, I love it!! I've been playing elite level sports (football) since I was a freshman in highschool and have been addicted to the thrill of pushing myself. After graduating from college in Oregon, 5 years of Div 1 football, and a small stint of Pro ball I realized that having what I consider "football weight" (265) was a little uncomfortable. I was going to the gym by myself and it was just time for a change. Week 1 has gone by, I switched my diet from my power lifting high protein/high carb intake, already lost 5lbs, & I love every minute of the volunteer torture, lol.
Old 12-04-2009, 05:44 PM   #2
Sheldon Danley

Profile:
Re: Transitions in Life

So wait, you graduated one year before the Rose Bowl?! Bummer dude. So glad it's not USC for once!

Welcome to the CrossFit clan. I was going to tell you to check out www.crossfitfootball.com (WFS) but seeing as how you go to an affiliate gym they might force you to do the workouts they program.

The more you research on these boards and the popular CF sites, you will learn that a high carb diet is highly frowned upon so kudos for making a move away from it right from the jump.

[EDIT] Sorry, you said "in Oregon" not "at Oregon"...and not necessarily last year. I guess it could still be true though?

Last edited by Sheldon Danley : 12-04-2009 at 05:47 PM.
Old 12-04-2009, 05:53 PM   #3
Eric Montgomery

Profile: