CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 09-14-2005, 08:34 PM   #1
John Bercaw

Profile:  
As an aspiring Crossfitter living in Salt Lake I've had the good fortune to use Mark Twight and the Gym Jones gang for information and motivation. My background is as a climber and Mark and I speak the same language so it was with a little trepidation when I decided to broaden my info net and call Dan John.

I've been doing Crossfit for about six months after going to a Santa Cruz seminar in February. Everything has been clicking except my Olympic lifts and they are the lifts that highlight all my weak points. As a climber I've spent years pulling with very little pushing and almost nothing ever went overhead unless it was my hand reaching for a hold.

I gave Dan a call after I heard he had taken a position as strength coach down at Juan Diego, a Catholic school for all ages. Visions of pre-schoolers doing overhead squats entered my head. Why not? My three year old has better squat form than I do.

While I didn't find any three year old Rigerts or Camerons I did find a program I would have died for when I was in high school. Dan, Anthony Barbiero and Anthony Jefferies have started a program for all students that revolves around Oly lifting and Crossfit.

The weight room gives it all away. Oly platforms front and center with all the weight machines pushed down the room. They have 25 Oly bars, some light, some regular, 5 lb plastic plates, bumpers, boxes, pull-up bars, PVC, everything but rings and ropes.

Students range from 90 lb 9th grade girls to starting senior linemen on the football team. It's such a blast to see them side by side doing C&Js, ovhd squats and pull-ups. From what I've seen most of the girls have better lifting form than the guys.