CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 08-09-2009, 09:40 PM   #1
Daniel Krull

Profile:
Question Ring muscle-up injury prevention

Hey. I just got my first ring muscle-up yesterday and today I tried 30 ring Muscle-Ups for time and only got to 20 full lock-out ring Muscle-Ups.

Friends told me to be careful with the shoulders. Why is that?

What should I do/be aware of with Ring Muscle-Ups? How often should I do high volume and what should I do to prevent injury? I'm just new to the ring Muscle-Ups and want to make sure that I'm going at them the right way!

Thanks for the help in advance!

P.S. What can I use to help my grip on the rings? Thanks.

Last edited by Daniel Krull : 08-09-2009 at 10:10 PM.
Old 08-10-2009, 05:47 AM   #2
Kevin Trangone

Profile:
Re: Ring muscle-up injury prevention

The only thing I could see being the problem with shoulders is that the dip you transition into tends to be very deep (at least with my muscle ups they are). I'm not an expert in this area so there is probably something I am missing.

Congrats on getting the first muscle up btw! Just keep playing with the rings and your grip will improve with time. Chalk helps a little too.

Good luck.
Old 08-10-2009, 10:47 AM   #3
Steven Low

Profile:

Well, as long as you're flipping the transition at once. Don't do each arm separately that can put a bunch of stress unequally on your shoulders.

Unless you have mobility problems or some structural deformations your shoulders should be fine though.

For grip: false grip holds, false grip pullups... false grip everything
Old 08-10-2009, 08:02 PM   #4
Daniel Krull

Profile:

Thanks Steven! Based off your other posts I've read before... I trust your judgment. I don't even know how those people do one arm at a time anyways!
Old 08-11-2009, 07:23 AM   #5