CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-25-2011, 08:34 AM   #1
Brian DeLongchamp

Profile:
New and seeking tips

I am new to Crossfit and working out in general (other then the mandatory fun the military provided) and I am looking to gain weight. Any advice in this area would be much appreciated.

Oh, I am 5'9" and fluctuate from 145 to 153 depending on the season
Old 05-25-2011, 09:07 AM   #2
Jason Wallis

Profile:
Re: New and seeking tips

Lift heavy things, eat alot of quality food.
Old 05-25-2011, 09:08 AM   #3
Charles Fey

Profile:

A lot of people will recommend CrossFit Football, Starting Strength, or 70's Big if you want to add strength from a good base. Given your BMI and service (thank you, by the way) you're probably a good candidate for either of those. Others will probably post the diet recommendations of those programs and the routines - if not Google should be instructive. Also, you could call around to CF boxes to see if any of your local affiliates have certified CFFB coaches to get you going. Good luck!
Old 05-25-2011, 09:45 AM   #4
David Hansen

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Wallis View Post
Lift heavy things, eat alot of quality food.
This. The OP's question has got to be the most frequently asked question here. I don't understand how the answer is not obvious to everyone. Eat more and lift heavier.
Old 05-25-2011, 01:28 PM   #5
David Z Sachs

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Hansen View Post
This. The OP's question has got to be the most frequently asked question here. I don't understand how the answer is not obvious to everyone. Eat more and lift heavier.
Because a lot of people are completely new to the fitness world and lift heavier to them may very well mean increase the weight on bicep curls, etc.