CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Running a CrossFit Facility
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Running a CrossFit Facility Tips and guidance on how to open and operate a CrossFit gym.

Old 07-25-2007, 11:31 PM   #1
Jeff Chalfant

Profile:
I've been crossfitting for a year and a half now and for the last 6 months it has been my dream to have an open-format crossfit gym. For the past 4 months I've been in talks with a martial arts studio regarding partial use of their facility. I just got the word today that they will be moving, so the prospect of growing into a lease for a perfect space in a perfect location is fading. They only wanted $1500/mo tops. The lease itself is $3000/mo--pretty much about as cheap as it gets in the Seattle metro area. I have literally NO capital, some equipment, and lots of passion. I can explain and teach crossfit well, but the personal training thing just leaves out so many people who can't afford it! I have no idea what to do now but lesson learned: Don't put all your hopes into one location.

Any tips on finding a good location?
Old 07-26-2007, 04:03 AM   #2
Steve Liberati

Profile:
There is a reason Jeff. Probably just was not meant to be. I fell into the trap myself of putting all hopes and dreams into one space and it fell through. happens...thats life! Keep looking...its out there. I found my spot, you'll find yours. Just be patient man.
Old 07-26-2007, 07:19 AM   #3
Ben Kaminski

Profile:
You can partner with almost anyone doing any kind of activity-based service. Gymnastics gyms, MA gyms, climbing/skating gyms, PT clinics... The possibilities are endless!

Setbacks are always disappointing, but getting back up after falling down lets you resume your quest with more wisdom than you had before.

EDIT: Oh right, here are some tips:

Make a list of all of the activity-based businesses in the area you are willing to work out of.