CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 01-31-2006, 01:54 PM   #1
Arden Cogar Jr.

Profile:
Hello All,
I'm new to the crossfit world. Did my first crossfit workout last week and loved it. My trainer and close friend, Brandon Walters, introduced me to the system and it's awesome. We did conventional deadlifts and push presses on the 21-15-9 prolonged superset. The weights were light, but it was hard. I think I deadlifted 265 and push pressed 175. It's awesome. Didn't time the workout, but I'm guessing it was completed in around four minutes.

I compete in Lumberjack Sports for a hobby and am looking at new avenues by which to improve my performances. My sport involves the use of razor sharp axes and crosscut saws which requires keen hand eye coordination along with general sports fitness and a world of toughess.

From where I sit, the crossfit system is great on building toughness. I'm looking forward to learning as much as I can from fellow iron heads and pain threshold pushers.

I've tried to attached one of the action shots from my sport. Which was in one of my slimmer days (about 245). I'm now a robust 260 at 5'11". My bodyfat is still below 15%, but I'm keen on losing some of the muscle I've developed from years of unnecessary heavy training. Athletism is the name of the game and a big muscle is not going to help me win the events I want to win.

I'm open to any suggestions and if any of you have seen my sport, please chime in with training ideas as I'm all ears.

All the best,
Arden Cogar Jr. aka jamie
Old 01-31-2006, 02:07 PM   #2
Nick Cummings

Profile: