CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > Community > Community
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Community Catch all category for CrossFit community discussion.

Old 04-23-2007, 02:06 PM   #1
Jared Grisham

Profile:
As a personal trainer, I have been doing crossfit for about 7 months now. Trust me when I say that I am disciple of the program. Unfortunately, I am the only one in my gym who trains this way. Although I train my clients in exercises/workouts that are heavily influenced by Crossfit (who love the workouts by the way), I am having a hell of hard time beating away the bodybuilding-type trainers who want me to work out with them. My head trainer, who encourages us to train with our fellow PTs, is always trying to get me to do a bodybuilding regiment with him.

Has anyone ever had a similar problem? Any advice on how to effectively subvert this mentality? I have already read the article addressing this issue. Leading by example with respect to the workouts is definitely making believers out of my clients, but not my fellow staff. Any suggestions?
Old 04-23-2007, 02:29 PM   #2
Howard Wilcox

Profile:
Is bodybuilding their goal? Or is it general fitness? Perhaps you could tell them you aren't interested in size for its own sake so their routine is not optimal for you. That doesn't slam what they are doing (assuming they are wanting size) but lets them know why you aren't particularly interested.

I'm not a PT so I have no idea if that would work. OTOH, if you steal their clients, they'll likely perk right up... :biggrin:

howard
Old 04-23-2007, 02:35 PM   #3
James Dent

Profile:

Jared I sometimes have a very similar problem..

My mate Steve does what I jokingly call the "Image Workout" which runs like this:

1. Wear a too small white vest a la Bruce Willis in Die Hard/ t-shirt with sleeves rolled up
2. Wear a pair of black fingerless gold's gym gloves