CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Nutrition
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nutrition Diet, supplements, weightloss, health & longevity

Old 08-26-2003, 10:24 AM   #1
christy Rosenau

Profile:  
I have been doing Tae-Bo for 2 month, almost every day and only eating 700 calories a day.. I have lost 11 pounds in the frist 2 weeks but now nothing more will come off. Do protine shakes help in weight loss and keeping it off?? If not is there something else I can do to get the weight off and keep it off??
Old 08-26-2003, 02:03 PM   #2
Ryan Atkins

Profile:
Christy-

I am going to attempt to address your question in sections since it covers a wide range of issues. Keep in mind that I am not an expert and others may disagree.

Weight loss - I am going to assume that you are trying to reduce body fat. Reducing body fat and losing weight do not always mean the same thing. One way to rid the body of unwanted fat is through resistance training, which helps to develop muscle. Muscle increases your metabolism and ability to burn fat. However, muscle also weighs more than fat, so depending on your fitness level you may not realize as much weight loss as you would doing extended aerobic activity (which causes muscle loss, among other things) but you will have a lower body fat percentage and be healthier overall.

Diet - Protein shakes help to build and maintain muscle, so in the strictest interpretation of your question, they probably will not aid in weight loss, fat loss maybe, but not weight loss. Also, the calories that a person eats per day is probably not as important as WHAT they are eating. The Atkins diet is OK (overly restrictive on carbs- to the point where supplementation becomes necessary, and under restrictive about the sources of protein and fat). Better guides include The Zone, The Protein-Power Lifeplan, and Natural Hormone Enhancement.