CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 05-01-2011, 06:14 PM   #1
Brendan Carroll

Profile:
G'day.....

G'day to all.....

I have been doing CF for about 3 months now - my PT opened a little box in a Redland Bay, Brisbane : called Elite HQ (he is not an affiliate yet)

My background - I have lost about 25kgs in the past year or so and have completely changed my lifestyle in interms of eating and fitness.....I would go to my local 24hr gym 7 days a week and work out at least an hour a day if not more.....

My PT would do some CF work-outs with me in the gym but not tell me it was a WOD...I didn't realise I was doing CF....

In my CF experiences so far - my strength has increased but I feel my cardio has dropped.....saying that though I ran 10km a few weeks back for a PB time...

Along the way - I have had my fair share of injuries : archilles tendon strain, lower back pain and last week twitched my knee doing DUs.....having read some other posts I am not the only one though - I will persist.....

I do love doing CF and have started collecting gym equipment to do a home WOD if I want.....

I am looking to build the DIY pull-up bar soon (another thread on here) - as my weakness is pull-ups amd kippying......this is my goal - at present I can do 1No strict pull-up (got to start somewhere) and still learning kippying movement with my PT to get a few more reps out.....I would like to be able to do 10 strict pull-ups and about 20 kippying pull-ups in time - this will take a fair bit of work in strength though.....

I am thoroughly enjoying reading posts on this forum and hope to contribute where I can.....

Cheers for now,
Brendan
Old 05-02-2011, 02:52 AM   #2
Dave Traeger

Profile:
Re: G'day.....

Hi and welcome Brendan
Old 05-02-2011, 04:23 AM   #3
Steve Bray

Profile: