CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Starting
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting For newcomers to the CrossFit methodology

Old 04-29-2011, 04:41 AM   #1
Toni Cameron

Profile:
Is CrossFit for me?

I am a total newbe to CrossFit. I came across it while researching different approaches to weight-loss and seeing what is available in my area. I am currently at the point where I am trying to decide if I should join the CrossFit gym or going the personal trainer route.

I am about 198lbs, 5ft 4, female who is wondering if CrossFit is going to be too much for me. I cycle about 10 to 15 miles a week, and walk during my lunch breaks when it is nice out. I know that in the FAQs it says that CrossFit is scalable, but I was wondering how does that work? When your with a group does the leader help you scale it or should you know what to do?

Thanks.
Old 04-29-2011, 04:59 AM   #2
Dave Traeger

Profile:
Re: Is CrossFit for me?

Firstly, if you're looking for weight loss, ensure your nutrition is in the right place.

To answer your query, Crossfit is completely scalable. The workouts as they are designed are intended for elite athletes. What this means is that depending on your strength, ability, capacity, workout can be adjusted to suit everyone, even if they're working out together. It's very common for people to be working side by side with different amounts of weight on their bars or using differing techniques they're capable with.

Here's an example workout:
As many rounds as possible in 15 minutes of:
45kg Power Snatch, 7 reps
15′ Rope Climb, 1 ascent
Hand Release Push Ups, 15 reps