CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Fitness
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Fitness Theory and Practice. CrossFit's rationale & foundations. Who is fit? What is fitness?

Old 05-14-2009, 05:41 AM   #1
Adam Carlson

Profile:
At what point...

...is someone ready to challenge the WODs? My buddies and I had been working out consistently and were in good shape from other sports, and CF still kicks our butt regularly (although we have gotten addicted to that feeling). Now I've got more people wanting to join in with us and get in better shape (I'm a high school teacher and coach, and known on campus as being the 'fit' guy). I would love to have company over the summer while doing the WODs, but don't want to risk injuring students. At the same time, I'd love to see them doing CF over the summer so that they can dominate in sports during the fall.

Is there a newbie prep course that they can do?

Old 05-14-2009, 05:43 AM   #2
Christopher Day

Profile:
Re: At what point...

It may seem too simple (although it is simple) but why can't you just scale the workouts using brand x?
Old 05-14-2009, 06:47 AM   #3
Eric Montgomery

Profile:

If you're looking for a prep course, teach the 9 fundamental movements using nothing more than PVC and a basketball. It is impossible to hurt someone with that little weight. Once their form is good, slowly add weight and do WODs scaled. Add in other basic movements like KB swings, thrusters, C&J, snatches, HSPUs, kipping pullups, wall balls, and GHD work in the same way.
Old 05-14-2009, 07:27 AM   #4
Jamie J. Skibicki

Profile:

You get ready for CF by doing CF. IF the people you are training have a particualr weakness (endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility) you may want to emphasize that kind of training, but not to the exclusion of other training.
Old 05-14-2009, 07:50 AM   #5
Tirzah Harper

Profile: