CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 05-01-2008, 09:53 AM   #1
Daren Reavis

Profile:
Muscle-up strain

I did my first muscle-up about a week ago. (Believe me, it wasn't pretty). However, I am not sure if I am doing it right. I have been doing pullups/chinups regularly for about six months, but whenever I try to do a muscle-up, my arms hurt for hours afterwards. It isn't a good hurt. It feels like I've strained my muscles every time I do it. Maybe it is because the muscle-up requires that fast jerk movement to get up and my muscles aren't used to that.

So, I am looking for suggestions of how to properly warm-up and prepare to train muscle-ups (and hopefully avoid the pain afterwards). My goal is to be able to do 10 muscle-ups by year end. I don't know if I should just push through the pain or what. (By the way, I'm 30 years old and in decent shape).
Old 05-01-2008, 11:45 AM   #2
Steven Low

Profile:
Re: Muscle-up strain

Avoid pain. If you're heavy, there's more stress on your joints and muscles unfortunately.

Explosive pullups and dips. Work the transition.. negatives, assisted, theraband, etc.

I'd prefer you try to learn a deadhang muscle up.... but yeah. It will take longer.
Old 05-01-2008, 12:50 PM   #3
Daren Reavis

Profile:

I only weigh 180lbs. By deadhang muscle-up do you mean no kipping at all? I don't even see how that is possible. The pullups and the dips I can handle, it's the transition that gets me. Is there a way to work just that part?
Old 05-01-2008, 01:03 PM   #4
Andres Gordo

Profile:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daren Reavis View Post