CrossFit Discussion Board  

Go Back   CrossFit Discussion Board > CrossFit Forum > Exercises
CrossFit Home Forum Site Rules CrossFit FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Exercises Movements, technique & proper execution

Old 01-26-2006, 08:38 PM   #1
joseph elberti

Profile:

I am fairly new to crossfit, and I have been looking around the site for information regarding stabalising and preventing shoulder injuries.

I am in my mid thirties, and am entering a profession that will be somewhat taxing on my joints (chiropractic). I am just starting to reach that age where I am realising my own mortality, and I want to make sure that I take care of myself properly in order to preserve my ability to work.

I am concearned about my shoulders and overhead pressing movements, handstands as well. I started trying to learn some of the lifts (snatches, overhead squats etc) and noticed a bit of shoulder soreness.

So far, what I have come up with to strengthen the shoulder girdle (I am particularly concearned with the rotator cuff):
-turkish get ups
-ring dips/ring work
-shoulder dislocates and overhead squats for flexibility

I am looking for any further advice.

I started handstand progressions ala Coach Summers, with one handed handstands. And I have incorporated a routine where I start with a BB- do a turkish get up, followed by lowering the BB to the floor, and a one armed snatch or clean-jerk followed by a windmill and one armed overhead squat....all as a general warm-up each time I work out.

So, with all of this new exercise, bam... shoulder soreness, not muscular, but there was no sudden or acute pain. This has me concearned about overhead lifts, hence, the post here.

Any advice regarding takeing good care of/ strengthening rotator cuff/glenohumeral joint?