CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Question on Overhead Squat (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=30600)

Michael Bell 04-17-2008 06:52 PM

Question on Overhead Squat

hey everyone, I've been working out for years but Crossfitting is new to me. I've been doing it for about 3 weeks now, scaling the workouts (especially cleans, push jerks, and the like because I've never done them before) and now just starting to add more weight.

my question is on the overhead squat. every time I squat my arms come forward and my shoulders can't hold the weight so I drop it. Am I just not flexible enough yet, or am I using the wrong technique?

any help on this would be appreciated, thanks

Gregory L. Johnson 04-17-2008 07:16 PM

Re: Question on Overhead Squat

I'm sure you've checked out the Overhead Squat videos in the Exercise section of the main site

[url]http://www.crossfit.com/cf-info/excercise.html[/url]

Like Coach points out in one of them, the overhead squat will reveal all the problems in your squat mechanics.

One reason your arms might be coming forward is if you are performing the overhead squat like a back squat and leaning forward. The bar should always be over the center of your feet.

Try scaling the weight down and keeping the bar centered.

If you can, post a video and then we can see what's really going on.

Michael Bell 04-17-2008 07:29 PM

thanks for the quick reply....

I only saw the first video on overhead squats, I didn't see the video on where it says how to go into the correct position. I had my hands in the wrong position (push press position)

like I said before I'm new at this, and don't always have a trainer available. I'm glad everyone seems to give such great advice here.

Doug Holland 04-17-2008 07:52 PM

Get your hands wide Michael. That way it is not like a Push lift.