CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Nutrition (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Potentially stupid question... (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=67488)

Stephanie Williamson 05-28-2011 07:23 AM

Potentially stupid question...

Okay, so I'm fairly new to CF. I've only been doing it for a few months and naturally, I love it. On another thread, I saw people start talking about how looking good and 'forging elite fitness' might not necessarily go hand in hand. Time for the stupid question - why not? I get that CF is more about performance and strength, but I guess I just sort of assumed that looking better would go along with the feeling better aspect.

I'm not particularly vain or anything and I've always worked out, but I guess I'm just wondering what I should expect. Either way, I'll continue with CF because I feel better than I ever did with 'regular' cardio/strength training, but I just want to be able to gage my results appropriately and not get discouraged.

David Hansen 05-28-2011 07:47 AM

Re: Potentially stupid question...

Genes. Your genes predispose you to a very specific fat and muscle deposition pattern. They predispose you to a specific tendon to muscle body length ratio. They predispose you to a specific skeletal structure.

These patterns, ratios, and structures will give you a "look" that sometimes isn't considered "ideal" by the zeitgeist of what's currently or evolutionarily considered "hot".

Aesthetic training programs like bodybuilding are intended to help fight these genetic propensities to some extent. But GPP programs like crossfit don't address this because you generally don't identify your aesthetic weaknesses and work on them. You train for performance.

Arturo Garcia 05-28-2011 07:55 AM