CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Exercises (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   No spotter for noob...bad idea? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=66607)

Joel Steven 04-19-2011 08:45 PM

No spotter for noob...bad idea?

Hey all, I'm new to olympic lifting, and I have no spotter. Would it be a good idea to wait until I have someone to spot me before I tackle these lifts?

Jason Wallis 04-19-2011 08:49 PM

Re: No spotter for noob...bad idea?

Start relatively light, work on form first, learn to dump a missed lift. A spotter isn't necessary, but video yourself occasionally for form feedback if there's no one there to provide feedback.

Jonathan Vechet 04-19-2011 08:54 PM

I'm curious as to how you plan to be spotted doing a dynamic movement.

Joel Steven 04-19-2011 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jonathan Vechet (Post 928064)
I'm curious as to how you plan to be spotted doing a dynamic movement.

Like I said, I'm new to this. It's quite possible that my terminology isn't on par with someone who has been doing this for awhile. I mostly mean should I have a spotter when it comes to squats, bench etc. I realize that it's not possible to have someone spot me during a snatch etc.

Katherine Derbyshire 04-19-2011 09:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joel Steven (Post 928066)
Like I said, I'm new to this. It's quite possible that my terminology isn't on par with someone who has been doing this for awhile. I mostly mean should I have a spotter when it comes to squats, bench etc. I realize that it's not possible to have someone spot me during a snatch etc.

For maximal lifts, not a bad idea. For routine day-to-day lifting, you shouldn't need one.

If you're new at this, it will be a while before you're moving dangerous weights, anyway. Learn how to dump a missed lift.

Katherine

Jonathan Vechet 04-19-2011 09:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joel Steven (Post 928066)