CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Exercises (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Hand Tears (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=84414)

Andrew J Carr 09-30-2013 12:13 AM

Hand Tears

Hi All,

So I've been CrossFitting for almost 5 months now and I have had a serious problem with hand tears. No matter what I seem to do (pedegg, file, cuticle trimmer, etc.) nothing seems to stop my hands from tearing. I've tried switching up my grip on the bar as well and that only causes rips in different areas. I use chalk too.

Any other suggestions? I'm one more tear away from getting gloves.

Margaux Burton 09-30-2013 01:52 AM

Re: Hand Tears

difficult situation since it sounds like you are taking necessary steps to prevent tearing. one question, when you say you are switching grip on the bar do you mean that during any given workout you are switching your grip? or are you using a constant grip for a period of time, then switching it (days or weeks later)?
Depending upon the specific grip demand of a workout I may change the way I hold/grip a bar 2-3 times. Even with the barbell. I've found that using hook grip, while extremely strong, seperates my thumbnail from the skin and is very painful.
Perhaps you can use a few strips of well placed tape on your hands to alleviate the problem. Good luck

Jayme Gruber 09-30-2013 08:43 AM

I use a callus shaver very often to keep them low: http://www.sallybeauty.com/Callus-Sh...l?cm_vc=SEARCH WFS
Then I sand them down after with an emery board to make sure there aren't any loose pieces and put on a little lotion.
And I also keep a pumice stone in the shower so I can run it over my hands at the end of my shower when my hands are soft.