CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Nutrition (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   New to paleo/crossfit (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=66949)

Nina Meltzer 05-05-2011 07:22 PM

New to paleo/crossfit

Hi ! I'm new to crossfit/paleo and just wanted some tips on everything.
I'm 5'2 , female and around 113 lbs. Wanting to mostly increase muscle/cut fat...obviously. Not really wanting to lose weight....

Typical diet:
bfast: 1 cup frozen berries,1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 banana and 1 tbsp almond butter in smoothie

snack: nut mix (1 oz) or lara bar or 2 hard boiled eggs

lunch: salad with avocado or turkey

snack: kale chips or lara bar or apple with almond butter

dinner: protein with veggies

post dinner: few berries

Getting a little light headed around 2 pm or so...any suggestions? I was eating pretty healthy before so it's not much of a change?

Thanks for your help!!!!

Katherine Derbyshire 05-05-2011 09:10 PM

Re: New to paleo/crossfit

If you get light-headed in the afternoons, you may need to eat more.

I'd like to see more protein, less dependence on carbs. Which I almost never tell people, so...

Otherwise, food quality looks fine.

Katherine

Tricia Magrini 05-06-2011 03:53 AM

I agree with Katherine. Looks a little carb heavy to me, particularly the Larabars. I adore them but try to keep them to once a week. I also think you look a little light on good fats. I see a good bit of nuts but maybe work on adding good oils/coconut. Maybe dump the almond milk for canned coconut milk in the smoothie. Have you tried a higher protein bfast like eggs and bacon? Overall I think more volume and specifically more fat & protein.

Nina Meltzer 05-06-2011 04:44 AM