CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Holy Crap (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=30019)

Ryan Green 04-06-2008 11:41 AM

Holy Crap

So, I've been working out for 10 years, started when I was 16 using machines, then progressed to free weights, and for the last year I've done compound lifts and bodyweight exercises. I still don't feel "fit" so after much research, I've decided to try Crossfit.

Today was my first day... didn't make it through the warm-up! I go to a commercial gym, but they have everything I need to do the WOD's... so I go in this morning and start the "official" warmup, samson stretches, overhead squats, sit ups, back extensions, pull-ups and dips... and made it through 2 1/2 sets. I started to feel lightheaded and my vision got a little blurry, so I laid down in the locker room for about 10 minutes until I felt a little better... I didn't want to waste the morning, so I did 30 minutes on the elliptical at a moderate pace, felt fine after that, and then did a full 3 sets of the warm-up.

My goal for tomorrow is to complete the warm-up and do a scaled version of Fran. I know it's a rest day but I'm eager to get started, so my goal for tomorrow is to complete the wam-up, and do last Monday's WOD (FRAN) scaled to 45 lbs bar and -50 lbs assisted pull-ups.

I have to say though, that today's warm-up was one of the best workouts I've ever had.

Peter Williams 04-06-2008 12:03 PM

Re: Holy Crap

Haha, sounds good Ryan. That warmup is a great way to get a taste of what crossfit feels like. Don't feel like you have to do that warmup "for time" or for sets of 15 at first, though - it is a warmup. But, as you work toward and achieve the ability to complete the full warmup you will be able to use it as one barometer of your improving fitness.