CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (https://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Equipment (https://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Why OLYs? (https://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=83229)

Georgia Guy 07-21-2013 02:45 PM

Why OLYs?

Okay I have been doing CF for about four years and seriously for the last two years. I have made great gains all around set PRs etc. Of late I have been getting stronger because of a change in programming. Everybody keeps telling me to invest in some OLY shoes. When I ask why the answer I get is "because they will help you."
Okay I'm 42 never gonna make it to the games but love pushing myself. Can I get a real reason to drop $175.00 on shoes. I'm not a hater or smart a$$ I would just would like a better answer from some experts.

Jeff Enge 07-21-2013 02:56 PM

Re: Why OLYs?

OK, here's the mechanics behind weightlifting shoes:

1. They all feature some kind of raised heel. Could be anywhere from 0.5" to 0.75" of lift. This allows most people to get into a much more vertical squat position, which is critical to maintaining balance in the catch of a clean or snatch (not to mention other exercises like back, front and overhead squats, pistols and wall ball shots)

2. They provide a solid base to lift from. Whether made of hard plastic or wood, the soles of lifting shoes are meant to be stiff, not squishy like most other athletic shoes. This means all of your force is being applied to standing up rather than in compressing the soles of your shoes. Of course, this is also why lifting shoes aren't supposed to be used for dynamic movements where the sole will be excessively flexed.

3. They stabilize your feet. Lifting shoes are meant to fit tightly, and in addition they usually are made with velcro straps. This allows your feet to push against the shoes and in turn apply force to the ground, as opposed to looser-fitting shoes where your feet have room to move around a little.