CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Equipment (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Footwear? (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=49229)

Andrew Bayro 07-25-2009 12:55 PM

Footwear?

so im fairly new to crossfit, and as i get into it im seeing you have to get shoes accordingly. i was wondering if there was a certain brand or kind of shoes that is widely used with crossfitters. i found inov shoes on the crossfit endurance page, but dont know if those are good, or if there is some better. i do some trail running, but it is a very mild trail with crushed gravel. any help would be greatly appreciated

Scott Stevens 07-25-2009 02:46 PM

Re: Footwear?

Andrew: Welcome aboard!

This question will get you a dozen different answers from a dozen different people.

For a shoe for straight up lifting, most will say to get a pair of weightlifting shoes.

For a shoe for straight running, some will say get a running shoe and some will say learn POSE and get some flat soled shoes (converse, vans, DCs, etc)

For the in-between (a WOD that includes lifting and running) is the grey area. I like my Vans but others like those five-finger shoes.

Do a board search on footwear or shoes and you'll find lots of opinions.

Thomas Covington 07-25-2009 03:34 PM

Scott said it well, to each their own.

Another popular choice to his list are indoor soccer shoes such as Samba's.

I believe when you are just starting out it is probably best to get a pair that you can use all around rather than a specialized style such as weightlifting or VFF's.

Eugene Goldashkin 07-25-2009 03:55 PM

i have puma H-streets, DC's, nike running shoes. but i thend to use my running shoes most of the work outs unless it involves lifting then i go barefoot. if it is a mix of both i wear the H-streets or DC's

Ahmik Jones 07-26-2009 07:53 PM