CrossFit Discussion Board

CrossFit Discussion Board (http://board.crossfit.com/index.php)
-   Starting (http://board.crossfit.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Getting rid of the weaknesses (http://board.crossfit.com/showthread.php?t=1359)

Matthew Mackey 05-31-2006 05:53 PM

Hi all,

I've just recently discovered this wonderful resource; I've been a fan of exactly this sort of pragmatic, efficient approach to fitness for some time, but I've never had the full means or motivation to carry it out completely. Seeing such a large community devoted to these principles with such obvious results has fueled my resolve, though, and I've been working out with renewed vigor for the past couple weeks thanks to crossfit.

I'm a 19-year-old college sophomore (soon to be junior, but let's not talk too much about that yet) at Dartmouth. I've always been a light guy (135 lbs, 5'8"), and I've always done sports, currently ultimate frisbee. I'm looking to put on a bit more muscle while retaining my spryness, which I think Crossfit can definitely do for me.

Anyways, I'm really looking forward to getting into the best shape of my life, but I've got a couple concerns I need to address before I can really tackle crossfit head-on. Namely, I've had chronic knee issues for a few years now (I was a triple jumper in high school, lots of high-impact training led to injury concerns) which I'm looking to get rid of (definitely patello-femoral pain syndrome, my coach knew it straight away but he only pointed me in the direction of a brace and to doing knee extensions, which I mostly stayed away from), and I'm also about 6 months removed from an ankle sprain which sidelined me for a month before I could play in a brace, so I've been trying to strengthen that as well. It's good enough to play with no brace, but it still swells up every now and then.